Myung-Whun Chung

From Sunday 09 May 2021

Date Location Ticketing
Sunday 09 May 2021 20:00 Teatro del Maggio Buy 

We kindly ask the audience to please read the COVID-19 informations about tickets and seats   

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 9 in D major
Mahler's long and poignant farewell to life and music is contained in the last three compositions of his career: Das Lied von der Erde, Symphony no. 9 and the draft of the Tenth. They share the same poetic content, the same sound atmosphere and the same point of arrival in total abandonment to that inevitable and mocking fate that had sentenced the composer to death prematurely by taking away, in a few years, first a daughter, then the role of director of the Vienna Opera and, finally, health due to an incurable disease. Composed between 1909 and 1910, the Ninth will be performed for the first time a year after Mahler's death conducted by Bruno Walter. Symphony beloved by Alban Berg, who praised its "deepest and most painful joy of living" in an atmosphere "permeated by the presentiment of death", the Ninth Symphony is a composition rich in signals, subtitles, farewell messages and premonitions. The structure is traditional only in appearance: four canonical movements but ordered in an unusual way, with the two central movements - a coarse Ländler and a Rondò Burleska - set between an Andante at the opening and an Adagio at the end. The emotional climate is traced from the first movement in which themes and sound symbols linked to destiny and the image of death are mixed, which materializes in the form of a funeral march. The central movements are entrusted with the task of easing the tension accumulated at the beginning; if the second movement is the prerogative of the dance rhythm, from the village Ländler to the languid Waltz that turns into a sort of macabre dance, the third, the Rondò Burleska, has the traits of parody of the severe contrapuntal style, with the irrational succession of entrances themes in a continuous accumulation of elements. The last word belongs to the Adagio, a moment of more intense pathos where the writing gradually becomes lighter and more rarefied to reach the last bars in which the hesitant sound of muted strings, as indicated by Mahler in the score, vanishes. "Dying" in the infinity of silence.

Myung-Whun Chung

Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino
Durata complessiva: 1 ora e 15 minuti circa
Stalls 1 100 €
Stalls 2 80 €
Stalls 3 60 €
Stalls 4 45 €
Boxes 35 €
Gallery 25 €
Limited visibility and Just listening 15 €